Home > Resources > Sustainability Directory

Sustainability Directory

Air Quality

Topic  Name Organization Phone Email
Air pollution regulations and monitoring George Baker Cleveland Division of Air Quality 216-664-2297 gbaker@city.cleveland.oh.us
Climate action planning Matt Gray Cleveland Office of Sustainability 216-664-2246 mgray@city.cleveland.oh.us
Health impacts of air pollution Rick Novicus Cuyahoga County Board of Health 216-201-2000 rnovicus@ccbh.net
Health impacts on children Aparna Bole UH Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital 216-767-8259 aparna.bole@uhhospitals.org
Indoor air quality problems Kim Foreman Environmental Health Watch 216-961-4646 Kim.Foreman@ehw.org
Regional air quality planning Joe MacDonald NOACA 216-241-2414 x341 JMacDonald@mpo.noaca.org

Energy

Topic  Name Organization Phone Email
Business and municipal energy procurement and efficiency programs Nicole Stika COSE 216-592-2338 nstika@cose.org
Deep energy retrofits Mandy Metcalf Environmental Health Watch 216-961-4646 mandy.metcalf@ehw.org
Energy conservation Tim Janos Spectrum Energy Concepts 440-915-1203  
Energy finance Shanelle Smith Cuyahoga County Department of Sustainability 216-443-3785 ssmith2@cuyahogacounty.us
LED street lighting Jim Ferguson Cleveland Public Power   jferguson@cpp.org
Municipal aggregation Chuck Keiper NOPEC 440-248-1992 ckeiper@nopecinfo.org
Municipal aggregation Matt Gray Cleveland Office of Sustainability 216-664-2246 mgray@city.cleveland.oh.us  
Municipal climate action plans Matt Gray Cleveland Office of Sustainability 216-664-2246 mgray@city.cleveland.oh.us
Municipal collaboration on energy financing Jennifer Kuzma Northeast Ohio First Suburbs Consortium 216-291-2854 JKuzma@clvhts.com
Solar permitting  Eric Romach Ohio State University Extension 419-294-4931 romich.2@osu.edu

Food

Topic  Name Organization Phone Email
Farmers markets  Donita Anderson North Union Farmers Market 216-751-7656 northunionfarmersmarket@yahoo.com
Local food economy Morgan Taggart  The Hub 55, St. Clair-Superior Community Development Corp. 216-881-0644 x113 mtaggart@stclairsuperior.org
Local food legislation Jenita McGowan City of Cleveland Chief of Sustainability 216-664-2405 jmcgowan@city.cleveland.oh.us
OSU Agriculture Extension Nicole Wright OSU Agriculture Extension, Cuyahoga County office 216-429-8200 x249 wright.1128@osu.edu
Regional food planning Brian Williams Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission 614-233-4187 bwilliams@morpc.org
Regional food policy Brad Masi NEO Food Web 440-935-3106 bradmasi444@gmail.com
Sustainable food services for institutions Stephanie Corbett Case Western Reserve University 216-368-6174 Stephanie.corbett@case.edu
Urban garden zoning Fred Collier Cleveland Planning Commission 216-664-3468  
Vacant land and urban agriculture Lilah Zautner Cuyahoga County Land Bank 216-698-4696 lzautner@cuyahogalandbank.org

Green Building & Historic Preservation

Topic  Name Organization Phone Email
Architectural resources for green building and historic preservation    AIA Cleveland 216-626-5755 director@aiacleveland.com
Commercial buildings Cindy Cicigoi Cleveland 2030 District 216-577-4485 cindycicigoi@2030districts.org
Green building policy Jenita McGowan Cleveland Chief of Sustainability 216-664-2405 JMcGowan@city.cleveland.oh.us
Green building policy  Judson Kline Orange City Council 216-469-5370 jkline@civitadservices.com
Green building policy Valerie Molinski Sustainability Consultant and City of Cleveland  216-526-2162 Valerie.Molinski@v2vert.com
Healthy housing  Mandy Metcalf Environmental Health Watch 216-961-4646 Mandy.Metcalf@ehw.org
Historic preservation Kathleen Crowther Cleveland Restoration Society 216-426-1000 kcrowther@clevelandrestoration.org
Passive House design David Beach GreenCityBlueLake Institute 216-231-4600 x3366 dbeach@cmnh.org
Green schools Lisa Pim Peterson Weber Murphy Fox Architects and U.S. Green Building Council Northeast Ohio Chapter board member 216-452-1216 lpeterson@wmf-inc.com

Land Use and Development

Topic  Name Organization Phone Email
Better Block events  Jason Segedy Better Block events 330-375-2770 JSegedy@akronohio.gov
Comprehensive plans Glenn Coyne Cuyahoga County Planning Commission 216-443-3700 gcoyne@cuyahogacounty.us
Conservation development and cottage development Kirby Date Cleveland State University 216-687-5477 k.date@csuohio.edu
Environmental justice and siting facilities Kim Foreman Environmental Health Watch 216-961-4646 kim.foreman@ehw.org
Greenspace planning Elaine Price Cuyahoga County Planning Commission 216-443-3721 eprice@cuyahogacounty.us
Health impact assessments Ann Stahlheber Cuyahoga County Board of Health 216-210-2001 astahlheber@ccbh.net
Mixed-use development Joyce Braverman Shaker Heights Planning 216-491-1432 joyce.braverman@shakeronline.com
Regional planning and transportation Grace Gallucci Northeast Ohio Areawide Coordinating Agency (NOACA) 216-241-2414 ggallucci@mpo.noaca.org
Transit-oriented development Maribeth Feke Greater Cleveland RTA 216-566-5160 mfeke@gcrta.org
Vacant land re-use Lilah Zautner Cuyahoga County Land Bank 216-698-4696 zautner@cuyahogalandbank.org

Solid Waste

Topic  Name Organization Phone Email
Contracting for automated collection Mayor Michael Byrne Parma Heights 440-884-9600 x5608 mayorsoffice@parmaheightsoh.gov
Converting to automated collection system Rick Glady Lyndhurst Service Department 440-473-5100 gladyr@lyndhurst-oh.com
Green teams for community education   Bay Village Green Team   info@bayvillagegreenteam.org
Solid waste management Diane Bickett Cuyahoga County Solid Waste District 216-443-3749 dbickett@cuyahogacounty.us
Solid waste and health Dane Tussel Cuyahoga County Board of Health 216-201-2000 x1247 dtussel@ccbh.net
Zero Waste planning Kristin Hall Cleveland Office of Sustainability and ZeroWasteNEO Working Group 216-664-3652 recycling2014@cityofoberlin.com

Transportation

Topic  Name Organization Phone Email
Active transportation Melissa Thompson NOACA 216-241-2414 x344 MThompson@mpo.noaca.org
Bike facility design Jacob Van Sickle Bike Cleveland 216-245-3101 Jacob@bikecleveland.org
City bike planning Bryce Sylvester City of Lakewood Planning Commission 216-529-6635 Bryce.Sylvester@lakewoodoh.net
Complete streets Jenita McGowan   216-664-2405 jmcgowan@city.cleveland.oh.us
Health benefits of active transportation Ann Stahlheber Cuyahoga County Board of Public Health   astahlheber@ccbh.net
Parking code updates James Sonnhalter Cuyahoga County Planning Commission 216-443-3713 jsonnhalter@cuyahogacounty.us
Protected bike lanes Tom McNair Ohio City, Inc.   bclint@clevelandymca.org
Safe Routes to School Kathryn Garvey Chagrin Falls   saferouteschagrin@yahoo.com
Trails and greenway planning Elaine Price Cuyahoga County Planning Commission 216-443-3721 eprice@cuyahogacounty.us

Trees & Land Management

Topic  Name Organization Phone Email
Greenspace planning Elaine Price Cuyahoga County Planning Commission 216-443-3721 eprice@cuyahogacounty.us
Landscaping without pesticides Barry Zucker Beyond Pesticides Ohio 216-371-3263 beyondpesticidesohio@gmail.com
Native Plants Cathi Lehn Lake Erie Allegheny Partnership Native Plan Promotion Committee and Cleveland Office of Sustainability 216-664-2421 clehn@city.cleveland.oh.us
Native Plants Kathy Hanratty Native Plant Society of Northeastern Ohio   enviroscapesdesign@windstream.net
Native plants, rain gardens and backyard habitats Jan Rybka Cuyahoga Soil & Water Conservation District 216-524-6580 x13 JRybka@cuyahogaswcd.org
Tree canopy assessment Dan Meaney Cuyahoga County Planning Commission 216-443-3709 dmeaney@cuyahogacounty.us
Tree protection ordinances Kirby Date Community Planning Program, Levin College of Urban Affairs 216-687-5477 k.date@csuohio.edu
Tree protection and water quality Cuyahoga ReLeaf 216-241-2414 x610 goodmanj@cuyahogariver.org
Urban forestry Alan Siewert Ohio Division of Forestry 440-564-5883 x1 alan.siewert@dnr.state.oh.us
Urban forestry outreach and education Chad Clink Holden Arboretum 440-602-3829 cclink@holdenarb.org
Urban forestry outreach and education Colby Sattler Western Reserve Land Conservancy 216-515-8300 csattler@wrlandconservancy.org

Watershed Management

Topic  Name Organization Phone Email
Best land use practices for water quality Kirby Date Ohio Balanced Growth Program 216-687-5477 k.date@csuohio.edu
Citizen education about watersheds Jennifer Grieser Watershed Stewardship Center at West Creek 440-331-8679 jmg2@clevelandmetroparks.com
Integrated planning for stormwater management Lou McMahon   216-367-1407 lmcmahon@mdllp.net
Municipal stormwater training Laura Travers Cuyahoga County Board of Health 216-201-2000 ltravers@ccbh.net
Ordinances for water protection Heather Elmer Chagrin River Watershed Partners 440-975-3870 helmer@crwp.org
Rain garden design Jan Rybka Cuyahoga Soil & Water Conservation District 216-524-6580 x13 jrybka@cuyahogaswcd.org
Regional stormwater policies Kyle Dreyfuss-Wells NEORSC Watershed Program 216-881-6600 DreyfussWellsK@neorsd.org
Regional water quality planning Pamela Davis NOACA 216-241-2414 pdavis@mpo.noaca.org
Stormwater facility planning and design Brent Eysenbach Cuyahoga Soil & Water Conservation District 216-524-6580 x11 beysenbach@cuyahogaswcd.org
Trees and water quality Jane Goodman Cuyahoga River Restoration 216-241-2414 x610 goodmanj@cuyahogariver.org
Water and economic development Bryan Stubbs Cleveland Water Alliance 216-309-2426 bstubbs@clewa.org